

-Save This Page as a PDF-

The Kings of Judah First Kings 14:21 to 15:29 and Second Chronicles 12:1 to 17:1



The three original kings of Isra'el were Sha'ul, David and Solomon. After the death of Solomon (to see link click Ca - Solomon's Death), the ten northern tribes revolted and established the kingdom of Isra'el. The remaining tribes of Judah and Benjamin remained loyal to the son of Solomon and formed the kingdom of Judah in the south. There were twenty rulers of Judah and God put them on the throne. In fact, many of them had names that included God's name, like Uzziah (God is my strength), and Abijah (God is my father). Despite their religiously symbolic names, not all of them were faithful to ADONAI. Out of twenty rulers, only five of them were righteous.

Rehoboam 930-913 BC 17 years

Abijah 913-911 BC 3 years

Asa 911-870 BC 41 years

Jehoshaphat 870-848 BC 25 years

Jehoram 848-841 BC 8 years



Ahaziah 841 BC 1 year

Queen Mother Athaliah 841-835 BC 6 years

Jehosh 835-796 BC 40 years

Amaziah 796-781 BC 29 years

Uzziah 781-740 BC 52 years

Jotham 740-736 BC 16 years

Ahaz 736-716 BC 16 years

Hezekiah 716-687 BC 29 years

Manasseh 697-642 BC 55 years

Amon 642-640 BC 2 years

Josiah 640-609 BC 31 years

Jehoahaz 609 BC 3 months

Jehoiakim 609-598 BC 11 years

Jehoiachin 598 BC 3 months

Zedekiah 597-586 BC 11 years