The Seven Seals of the Lamb

6: 1-17

    There is a parallel between Christ’s prophecies while speaking privately to His apostles on the Mount of Olives in Matthew 24 and the six seal judgments in Revelation 6. The first seal was opened revealing a rider on a white horse, who held a bow and who rode out as a conqueror bent on conquest. The Lord Jesus will come on a white horse, but this is not He, but a counterfeit Messiah, or the antichrist, who will establish a temporary peace. What is the first prophecy of Matthew 24? Watch out that no one deceives you. For many will come in my name, claiming, “I am the Christ,” and will deceive many (Matthew 24:4b-5).

    The second seal was opened revealing a man on a red horse with a large sword, who will take peace from the earth. The second prophecy given by our Lord was that there will be wars and rumors of wars . . . nation will rise up against nation, and kingdom against kingdom (Matthew 24:6-7a).

    The third seal was opened revealing a rider on a black horse, who was holding a pair of scales in his hand, and a voice among the four living creatures pointed to famine. And the third prophecy on the Mount of Olives made by Yeshua Messiah was that there will be famines (Matthew 24:7b).

    The fourth seal was opened revealing one on a pale horse, the color of a corpse, whose rider was named Death and Hades. They were given power over a fourth of the earth to kill by the sword, famine and plague. Furthermore the fourth prophecy by the Lord Jesus tells of famines and earthquakes in various places (Matthew 24:7b).

    The fifth seal has to do with those who were slain because of the Word of God, who, under the altar, cry out: How long, Sovereign Ruler, holy and true, until you judge the inhabitants of the earth and avenge our blood? What is the fifth prophecy by Messiah? Then you will be handed over to be persecuted and put to death (Matthew 24:9).

    The sixth seal described the earth in its death throws where the sun turned black, the moon turned blood red, stars fell and the sky receded like a scroll. Then another prophecy given by our Lord was that the sun will be darkened, and the moon will not give its light; the stars will fall from the sky, and the heavenly bodies will be shaken (Matthew 24:29). Six of the seven seals are broken in this chapter; the scroll itself is opened when the seventh seal itself is broken in 8:1.

    The scene now shifts to the earth. Taken as a whole, Chapter 6 is one of the most pivotal chapters in the entire book. It describes the first six seals and also introduces the seventh seal that consists of, and introduces, the seven trumpet judgments of the wrath of God. It should put to rest the false teaching that Jesus Christ, being a God of love, could not judge a wicked world.192


< previous page
next page >

Genesis | Exodus | Isaiah | Ruth | Esther | Jeremiah
Life of David | Jonah | Jude | Life of Christ | Hebrews | Revelation
News & Updates | Links & Resources | Testimonials | About Us | Statement of Faith
Home | Español | Our FAQ

The Teaching Ministry of Jay Mack 2006-2019